Blue Ribbon Award 2012

U. S. Department of Education Blue Ribbon School Award Winners

Council of Administrators (CAS) Presidents’ Dinner

Holiday Inn, Plainview – December 12, 2012

The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program recognizes public and private elementary, middle and high schools where students perform at very high levels or where significant improvements are being made in students’ levels of academic achievement. Since 1982, the U.S. Department of Education’s National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has honored America’s most successful public and private elementary, middle, and high schools. A National Blue Ribbon Schools flag waving overhead has become a trademark of excellence, a symbol of quality recognized by everyone from parents to policy-makers in thousands of communities. Schools honored with the Blue Ribbon School Award are recognized for their commitment to accelerating student achievement and preparing students for success in college and careers. Blue Ribbon Schools are recognized among their state’s highest performing schools, as measured by state assessments or nationally-normed tests.

The Council of Administrators and Supervisors congratulates all of this year’s award recipients for their outstanding leadership and dedication to their school communities and is proud to note that of the 314 public and private schools nationwide honored with this award in 2012, four (4) schools are from Long Island; three (3) of them members the CAS family.

Among the CAS principals and schools  cited this year were Dr. Lisa Belz, Principal of the Timber Point Elementary School in the East Islip School District; Mr. Peter Pramataris, Principal of  the Mount Sinai Middle School in the Mount Sinai School District;  and Ms. Michelle Burget,  Principal of the South Woods Middle School in the Syosset Central School District.

In addition to being recognized by U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan and receiving their Blue Ribbon Awards in Washington DC in November, Dr. Belz, Mr. Pramataris and Ms. Burget were honored by their peers with CAS Achievement Awards at the Council of Administrators and Supervisors annual President’s Dinner held at the Holiday Inn on December 12, 2012.

Dr. Lisa Belz, Principal, Timber Point Elementary School

with Anthony Laurino, CAS President



L to r: John Nocero, CAS Treasurer; Anthony Laurino, CAS

President; Peter Pramataris, Principal, Mount Sinai MS

and Skip Voorneveld, CAS Executive Vice President


James Kassebaum, CAS Committee Chairman accepting

for Michelle Burget, Principal of the South Woods MS