U. S. Department of Education Blue Ribbon School Award Winners

Council of Administrators (CAS) Presidents’ Dinner

Holiday Inn, Plainview – March 8, 2018

CAS Congratulates Bayport-Blue Point, Herricks, Garden City, Massapequa, and Vandermeulen (Port Jefferson) High Schools

CAS is honored to recognize Bayport-Blue Point, Garden City, Herricks, Massapequa, and Earl L. Vandermeulen (Port Jefferson) High Schools, for winning national recognition from the U. S. Department of Education as National Blue Ribbon Schools of Excellence. Special congratulations to Bayport-Blue Point High School Principal, Dr. Guarav Passi; Garden City High School Principal, Nanine McLaughlin; Herricks High School Principal, Dr. James Ruck; Massapequa High School Principal, Patrick DiClemente; and Earl L. Vandermeulen (Port Jefferson) High School Principal, Christine Austen for their leadership in earning a National Blue Ribbon School of Excellence with designation as an Exemplary High Performing School.

National Blue Ribbon School of ExcellenceBayport- Blue Point High School

L to r: and CAS President, Albert Voorneveld; Dr. Gaurav Passi, Principal, Bayport-Blue Point HS and Martin Malone, Assistant Principal, Bayport-Blue Point HS


National Blue Ribbon School of ExcellenceMassapequa High School

L to r: Deja Berry, Executive Assistant to the Principal; Patrick DiClemente, Principal, Massapequa High School; Tania Willman, Executive Assistant to the Principal; Michael Quigley,  Executive Assistant to the Principal; and CAS President, Albert Voorneveld


Since 1982, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has been recognizing public and private elementary, middle and high schools where students perform at very high levels or where significant improvements are being made in students’ levels of academic achievement.  A National Blue Ribbon School flag waving overhead has become a trademark of excellence, a symbol of quality recognized by everyone from parents to policy-makers in thousands of communities. Schools honored with the Blue Ribbon School Award are recognized for their commitment to accelerating student achievement and preparing students for success in college and careers. Blue Ribbon Schools are recognized among their state’s highest-performing schools, as measured by state assessments or nationally-normed tests.

The Council of Administrators and Supervisors congratulates all of the 292 public and 50 private schools nationwide honored with this award in 2017.  We are particularly proud to note that the Bayport-Blue Point, Herricks, Massapequa, and the Port Jefferson Administrators are long- term members of the CAS Long Island family.

The Department honored all 342 schools at a recognition ceremony at the Omni Shoreham Hotel on Nov. 6 – 7 in Washington, D.C. and CAS recognized each school at the CAS Delegate Assembly on March 8, 2018 at the Plainview Holiday Inn.