2015 ESSAA Region 1 CAS – Administrator of the Year, Dr. Dennis O’Hara  

Dr. Dennis O’Hara, Principal of Oyster Bay High School in the Oyster Bay-East Norwich School District is the 2015 ESSAA/CAS Administrator of the Year. He was recognized at the annual statewide ESSAA Executive Board Meeting held at The Sheraton on the Falls in Niagara Falls, NY on May 29th. Earlier in the school year Dr. O’Hara was also honored as the 2015 CAS High School Principal of the Year at their annual winter Delegate Assembly in February at the Holiday Inn in Plainview.

For each award Dr. O’Hara was nominated by a peer and selected by the CAS Award Committee for exemplifying the highest qualities of school administrative leadership including achievement, vision, innovation, and collaboration with parents, students, staff and administrators.

Dennis and group

L to r: CAS Attorney, Brad Stuhler; CAS Executive Vice President, John Nocero; Assistant Superintendent for Business, Westhampton Beach SD, Kathy O’Hara; Dr. Dennis O’Hara; CAS President, Skip Voorneveld; CAS President Emeritus, Tony Laurino; and CAS Attorney, Michael Starvaggi

Dr. O’Hara is a well-respected and highly accomplished school leader who has developed several innovative high school programs and opportunities for a very diverse student population. Focusing on staff development and building strong and enduring relationships with staff, students and parents he has created a specialized learning environment at Oyster Bay High School that challenges highly skilled and motivated students that at the same time supports and nurtures students newly arrived to the country and students with special learning needs. He is especially proud of his successful efforts to expand the Advanced Placement courses offered in Oyster Bay and his biannual efforts to create multi-day college visitations to colleges along the eastern seaboard for students who would not ordinarily have the opportunity.

Dr. O’Hara has taught biology and general science at the secondary level in the Valley Stream and Miller Place School Districts and has also served as science department chairman (grades 6-12) and assistant principal in the Hauppauge School District. Dennis is currently the President of the Oyster Bay–East Norwich Administrator’s Association and the Vice President of the Nassau County High School Principals’ Association. He is also actively involved in interscholastic athletics in Nassau County as a member of the Section VIII Athletics Ethics Board and is a Past President of the Section VIII Executive Council.  In addition, Dr. O’Hara is an adjunct professor at St. John’s University, teaching in both the masters and doctoral programs.

The Council of Administrators and Supervisors is proud of Dennis’s many accomplishments and congratulates him on receiving this well-deserved state-wide award!